Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Image

heartworm

n. a relationship or friendship that you can’t get out of your head, which you thought had faded long ago but is still somehow alive and unfinished, like an abandoned campsite whose smoldering embers still have the power to start a forest fire.

 

I’ve been trying

To be oblivious to your resounding absence

To not overlook your arrogance

To loathe you with a vengeance

For inflicting such mental anguish

 

I shred your letters

Along with the ones I penned

But never sent

Set them on fire

Blinked back tears

And watched them turn to ashes

 

I buried your ring

And threw everything I owned

Touched by you

Far into the sea

That reminded me

Of your existence

 

Momentarily

I forget all about you

Then,

Our reservoir of memories

Starts to spill

My mind mentally regresses

To when time stood still

All those suppressed feelings

Creep in again

And I land back to square one

 

It’s a constant battle between remembering and forgetting. .

 

Imagere